top of page
  • Writer's picturealtmummy

39 week midwife appointment - is baby imminent?!


Yesterday I had my 39 week midwife appointment and - as with all my other appointments - it was very uneventful! I'm still getting my head around the fact he could be here any time soon but I get the distinct feeling the midwife thinks I'm going to be late. I'm due on the 30th of September and she's always said she thinks he'll be an October baby. He's not engaged yet, seems to still have plenty of wiggle room and I don't think I've had any Braxton Hicks or contractions. If I have I haven't noticed them...! She's booked me in for 2 weeks time to have an optional stretch and sweep. She said the success rate is very low (about 17%) but it's an option if I'd like to give it a try. To be honest it would be preferable to being induced which is the next option 4 days after they offer the sweep but I haven't decided if it's worth the discomfort yet!


Other than that, I still have a very good appetite although I'm craving sweet a bit too much at the moment. I think part of that has come from it being my birthday last week so there were lots of yummy chocolates around. Particular favourites have been Monty Bojangles truffles and Hotel Chocolat Salted Caramel Puddles... very naughty! Last night I made a Cuban chicken rice bowl for me and the man and there was some leftover mango and orange from that so I had a bowl of fruit for my pudding instead. Trying to get my sweet fix in better ways!


How fresh and colourful and tempting is this?! It was delicious!

I'm still sleeping really well. I do occasionally wake up with a numb hip but I just roll over and fall straight back to sleep on my other side again. I'm not needing to get up in the night to use the loo at all and I have plenty of energy. I've been really enjoying cooking and caring for my man without feeling frazzled by it and I'm also using this motivation to get this blog up and running properly. I've got some exciting content in the pipeline and some fun little collaborations as well.


I'd be so interested to hear how other people were at 39 weeks with their first baby. Did you know when you were going into labour or did you carry on having lots of energy and appetite before it happened? Also people's experiences of and opinions on a stretch and sweep would be great!

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page