top of page
  • Writer's picturealtmummy

I am now officially overdue!



So here we are on the 1st of October. I was so hoping for a September baby being one myself! But baby has other plans...


I am officially overdue at 40 weeks and 1 day. And do you know what? I still don't feel that pregnant... I mean obviously aside from looking like I have a beach ball up my top, I wouldn't say I feel too much different. I know I've been super lucky but generally I'm still sleeping (although partner says I snore now!), I've got a good appetite, lots of energy and motivation and I feel pretty chilled about the whole experience to come. Don't get me wrong, carrying a washing basket up the stairs now feels like a monumental effort and I'm definitely making more of a concerted effort to sit down and recharge more, but other than that we're doing good!


Yesterday was a busy and exciting day so I'm just hibernating away from the horrible rainy weather today. I'm going to tidy the house, faff around on Instagram a bit, plan some meals and read my book. I got Nell Zink's new book for my birthday and it's absolutely glorious! More political than my usual reads but it just draws me in. She has to be my favourite contemporary author.


Yesterday was super fun as I got to meet Holly for a sneak preview of her new shop at Rockit Kids in Northampton. We had a lovely natter and browse of her products and then I took myself off to the local cafe. It felt so indulgent to sit alone in a cafe on a Monday morning making some blog notes with a slice of cake and a pot of loose leaf decaf tea. I definitely think when baby arrives I need to find a good cafe that we can go to for some de-stress time. I then nipped next door and bought some gourds for my mum for her photography and a gorgeous bouquet of flowers for myself. Now I'm home more, there's something lovely about sitting in a room with fresh flowers. I then went into work for a catch up with my colleagues and they were all so lovely to me - telling me how well I looked and how relaxed which was a really nice boost.


So basically I don't think baby's too imminent. I think he's still pretty high as I get heartburn and some kicks to the ribs. I woke up in the night with period type pains but nothing major and I just went straight back to sleep. I can get tearful and overly sensitive a lot more than I would normally but other than that I really don't think much has changed symptoms wise. I would have loved a September baby but at least now we're in October I can say for certain that he'll be here this month - he has no choice now!


I'd be interested to hear if other people got any real signs or symptoms or if it just happened out of the blue?! And did anyone reach the stage where they felt they probably shouldn't really go out alone or did everyone carry on as normal? I'd love to hear all your overdue stories!

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page