top of page
  • Writer's picturealtmummy

Welcome!

So here is my first ever blog post as Alt Mummy! I plan on making this site my little project whilst I'm on maternity leave and would like to see it grow into a diary as well as a platform to share brands I love and a few recipes and ideas on things to go and places to see.


But first, who am I? I'm Eleanor, turned 30 yesterday and currently living in Leicestershire. I'm 38 weeks pregnant with a little boy and I live with my gorgeous fiance, Nathan. Our baby boy is going to be named Oakley Cole and we're currently in that nervous anticipation stage of not really knowing when he could arrive!


I have a Masters degree in the Country House in Art, History and Literature and have worked in stately homes since graduating. I love working on events and the commercial side of heritage but I've also always loved writing so I'm looking forward to being able to exercise that with my blog. It's strange for me not to be studying or working but I'm determined to enjoy the time with Oakley whilst occupying my mind with this page.


I am an avid reader and can devour a book in a day. I love contemporary fiction as well as classics and coffee table books on history and art. I enjoy travel and really want to visit Italy, Iceland, Canada and the West Coast of America in the coming years. I'm a real planner so I love putting together travel itineraries and doing lots of research before a holiday. I like cooking home cooked meals and doing simple baking at home; tasty but budget friendly meals that satisfy my man's big appetite! I have been horse riding since I was 4 years old and I hope to get back in the saddle again not too long after baby appears as it's my favourite way to keep fit.


And where does the alt come from? I remember babysitting for a friend at my stables for quite a few years and her husband once said to a fellow mum that I would be recognisable as I would stick out like a sore thumb in the playground. This stuck with me even though it was years ago as I didn't want to be the tattooed and pierced mum with the crazy hair that everyone thought shouldn't be there. I've grown to embrace my individuality over the years and I don't want to change because I'm a mum now so I'll still dress how I like, listen to "shouty" music and bleach my long-suffering hair. The alt also comes from wanting to promote and support small businesses who are into creating artisan, eco-friendly and/or ethical products. I hope you also discover brands who are a little different from your usual high street retailers but still affordable and attainable.


Do say hi, interact with my posts and get in touch with any ideas you might have or things you'd like to see on this blog. I'm looking forward to meeting many more mums who want to do a good job whilst enjoying the journey and not taking it all too seriously!


47 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page