top of page
  • Writer's picturealtmummy

What's cooking this week?


Spaghetti Bolognese followed by chocolate hazelnut mousse

Walnut, feta and mint pesto with sweet potato and wholemeal pasta

Tex-Mex crispy pork rice

Honey mustard hot dogs

Philly cheesesteak pie with mash

Sticky maple glazed lamp chops with cous cous

Cuban style chicken rice bowl


I don't normally do a homemade pudding but I came across a Nadiya recipe for this mousse so thought I'd give it a go and stick to an easy main so it doesn't feel too much effort! My partner isn't big on puddings but he does love a bit of nutty chocolate so I think this might go down well. I tend to cook with a lot of chicken as my partner likes it and it's affordable but this week we're mixing things up a bit with a good mix of meats and a veggie meal. I like to try and eat at least one fish meal a week but Nathan really isn't a fishy person so I have to sneak these in!! I could eat fish and seafood everyday but I know it's an acquired taste!


I'm now officially 39 weeks pregnant so I'm hoping I actually get to cook this week's menu without popping first! I don't tend to stick to a rigid plan of what we eat each day even though I do create a weekly menu so maybe I should prioritise the stuff with a longer date for the end of the week. I find it so satisfying cooking from scratch and it's so nice now I'm on maternity leave to have the time to menu plan and the energy to cook in the evenings. I'm sure it must be healthier than the grab and go type meals as well.


Since I've been pregnant I've also discovered the joys of shopping online and click and collect. I'll be switching to delivery for a few weeks after bab is born to make it even easier! I love being able to sit on my comfy sofa and easily see the best deals and offers as well as selecting the amount I actually need. It also saves that annoying trawl of the aisles looking for an obscure ingredient you've never actually bought before! I'm sure we waste far less this way because I'm buying for specific recipes rather than getting tempted by things I'm seeing on the shelves and not actually creating full meals out of them.


If you would like me to share the recipes for any of these, just comment below. I'll also share my photos of them and any tips or adjustments to the recipe I'd make after making it.

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page