top of page
  • Writer's picturealtmummy

What's in my hospital bags?



First off I should add a disclaimer here and say I've never given birth before so I may have made some great hospital bag choices but also some terrible ones - who knows?! However, I feel like I've done my research and come up with a few bits that should cover all bases... hopefully.



I have packed two separate wheely carry-on type suitcases - one for me and one for bubba to keep everything nice and organised. I've kept things in the outside pocket that I think I'll need for birth/immediately after birth and then the main compartment for less urgent stuff. I have seen some people package everything up into freezer bags so they've got a bag for pre-birth, birth, after birth and going home but I didn't feel the need to be that organised!



In my bag I've packed:

-A pack of isotonic sports drinks for energy during labour

-A towel as apparently the hospital ones are minuscule!

-Rubber-soled slippers

-A going home outfit (just a t-shirt and leggings - nothing fancy!)

-Dressing gown

-Heart monitor bands. I was given these when we went in with reduced movement last month and was told that if I kept them, they could reuse them on me when I was in labour and it saves the NHS a bit of money.

-Breast feeding vitamins

-Maternity pads

-Nipple pads

-Phone charger, spare plug and portable charger. The last thing I want is not to be able to contact people when I need to!

-Hand-held fan

-Cotton wool pads

-Toiletry bag to keep everything organised

-Femfresh. I've heard these are good for 'dabbing' after the loo post-birth.

-Shampoo and conditioner

-Comb

-Various lipbalms and a lip scrub because I can't stand having sore lips!

-Contact lenses and glasses

-Toothbrush

-Dry shampoo

-Anti-fatigue body wash

-Body lotion

-Nipple cream

-Deodorant

-Micellar water

-Toothpaste

-Disposable briefs

-Hair band

-Massage ball - this is amazing for lower back pain

-Big black knickers!

-Various socks

-2 button up night shirts

-Maternity notes

-A book. I also might take a magazine as my book isn't the lightest read! I probably wouldn't bother with loads of entertainment stuff if I was having a 'normal' delivery but as I'm being induced, I'm thinking there could be a lot of waiting around with not much happening.



Not pictured but things I will add last minute are a few maternity bras, foundation and mascara and moisturiser, serum and essential oils. I don't want to pack a load of make-up as I just don't think it will be a priority but a bit of foundation and mascara might perk me up post-birth if I have the energy to apply it! I've also downloaded some films and series onto my partner's phone from Netflix so we can watch those together and I'll take a pair of headphones as well. Again, I don't think entertainment is top of the agenda for most births but it might be good to prepare some things to keep you and your partner calm if you know you could be waiting around a while for an induction or c-section. I'm also going to take some change for vending machines and car parks.


For baby I have packed:

-A coat in case it's cold when we go home (removed in his car seat)

-Going home outfits x 2 (one newborn and one 0-3 as he's overdue so I'm not sure what size he'll be!)

-Body wash

-Nail kit as overdue babies can have very long nails

-Hooded towel

-4 x vests (again two sizes)

-Blanket

-Water wipes

-Socks

-Scratch mitts

-Dribble bibs

-Teddy

-Bepanthan

-Shampoo

-2 x muslins

-Cotton wool balls

-3 x grows

-3 x hats

-A load of nappies!

-Car seat and ISO fix (already fitted)



I feel like I've probably over packed for the little man but I don't want to feel unprepared when he's here - I want it to feel as calm as possible. I told my midwife I planned on breast feeding so she said not to take any formula with me else I'll be too quick to give up and use it. She also said the hospital would have some if we were really struggling to get him to feed. I also haven't packed a dummy as a few people have said this can interfere with breast feeding in the early days.



I'm now 11 days overdue and it feels like a lifetime ago I packed these bags so I was prepared for his arrival! I think I had them ready from about 36 weeks which is late for some people! We're going in for an induction tomorrow morning at 8am and the nerves are starting to kick in. My bags are all packed though and I feel physically prepared for it, just mentally it seems like a big thing to achieve now! I'm looking forward to a chilled evening with my partner, a takeaway and some cuddles before all the chaos begins! I'm hoping to come home again tomorrow once they've started the treatment so I can rest up at home but I've packed for being in overnight tomorrow as well in case.



Yesterday I genuinely thought something was happening and I'm so disappointed that it wasn't because it would have been lovely to have my birthing centre water birth after such a straightforward pregnancy but never mind. Yesterday he was pretty quiet all day so I called the assessment unit. I was in a queue for an hour and 15 minutes before someone eventually picked up. She asked how overdue I was and put me on hold. She then came back on the phone and said the assessment unit was closed and I'd have to call another hospital. I was pretty shocked that I'd had to wait so long and then was just told they were closed! Maybe they should put that on their answerphone so you don't sit and wait for over an hour! Anyway, baby's movement did pick up so I didn't call the other hospital but I started getting loosening and tightening spasms down the side of my bump, painful pressure on my cervix, lower back pains and period type pains low down in my stomach. I went to bed a few hours later convinced I was going to be woken up by something really happening. I did get woken up but it was just with acid reflux!


I feel a bit sore and slow today but other than that, I think everything is just normal. I'm pretty much convinced that it'll be the induction in the morning. So I may be a bit quiet on here and social media for the next few days but I'll be sure to update you when I can! This baby has so many people on tenterhooks now it's actually insane!


37 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page