top of page
  • Writer's picturealtmummy

Handmade Dummy Clips talks starting your own business and exhibiting at the first Alt Mummy fair

Ashley runs and owns Handmade Dummy Clips from her home. She is passionate about safe and stylish teething accessories for babies and will exhibiting at the first Alt Mummy Mini Market in April.


What encouraged you to start up your own business?


I started my business as I was in need of a hobby; I needed something that I could focus on. I've never had a hobby before and so I stumbled across dummy clips one day and decided that that was what I was going to do. I've always been creative - I went to college for A Level art and design and I've always had that creative flare in me. I also decided that if I was going to do this then I was going to do it properly. I needed to get all the laboratory testing done to certify them safe; I needed to get all the relevant certificates so I would be taken seriously and know that I was safe.


What is your favourite part of making your products?

The hard work paid off and in August this year Handmade Dummy Clips became my full time job. I never dreamed this would have happened when I started out but I have put my heart and soul into my business and I just absolutely love it. Making my items is my favourite thing to do and I feel so lucky that I am doing a job that I adore and that I created.



How important do you think social media is to new businesses these days?

Social media is very important! Instagram is my fave - I upload daily. I use Instagram as my first point to upload all my products and I also adore Pinterest too. I've gained friends on Instagram who I've never met yet I talk to them regularly... it's just such a wonderful platform and everyone is so supportive.


What challenges do you find balancing your business and parenting?

I drop my girls off to school in the morning, I come home, have a potter around with the Hoover etc and then I crack on with work 10-2 and those are the hours that I work everyday in the week. It's nice being able to work from home as when I'm having really busy weeks I can then pop upstairs to my office and work when the children are in bed too. Being a work from home mum is amazing as I'm able to do the school runs and go to stay and play so it's brilliant.



What other mum owned businesses do you recommend?

Lisa who runs Harls & Ted is a friend of mine. She also runs a mummy business and she makes sweatshirts with the most amazing mummy quotes. I absolutely love these sweatshirts for the school run.


What products are essential to you as a parent?

Baby wipes are essential to me as a parent and to clean my house... I never knew I loved baby wipes so much until I had children! I use them for everything.



What are you looking forward to most about exhibiting at the first Alt Mummy fair?

I'm excited to be showing off my full range of products at the pop up fair. I will be bringing dummy clips, teething rings and teething necklaces. These will all be made for the fair and not available on the website and so they will be one of a kind.


What is your go to dinner after a busy day?

My go to dinner as a mum is spaghetti bolognese. My kids and husband absolutely love spaghetti bolognese - it's quick, it's easy and even our little pug looks forward to his leftover mince so it's a family favourite in our house.



What trends in teething items have you noticed over recent years?

I added teething toys after months of opening and they have been a huge success. I was featured in Tatler magazine in 2019 which was just overwhelming considering I started this at my kitchen table. I now have my own little studio/office in my house which is my favourite place in the house. When I'm in my office I'm happy. My business is my baby ( no pun intended). And I really put my heart into every single item I make.



You can shop these gorgeous teething items and dummy clips here: https://www.etsy.com/uk/shop/Handmadedummyclipsx

Or come and meet Ashley in person on the 18th of April between 10am and 5pm upstairs at Little Raine in Market Harborough for the first ever Alt Mummy Pop Up Mini Market!

17 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page