top of page
  • Writer's picturealtmummy

Lianne from Sienna Apparel talks breastfeeding challenges and ethical fashion

Sienna Apparel Ltd is a clothing brand designed to provide mums with fashionable and ethical breastfeeding friendly clothing. What prompted you to start the company?

I started the company after I had my daughter Sienna in 2017. I couldn't find breastfeeding clothing that felt like 'me', & that wasn't complicated, or 'mumsy!'. I decided there and then that breastfeeding mamas deserve more choice, and the ability to feel confident in our clothes - & so I set to work designing my own clothing line.

What career did you previously have and how has this helped with starting your own business? I studied BA Fashion Design at Uni, and travelled for a few years after graduating (spending 2 years in Australia, 6 months in New Zealand, and a few months in south east Asia). My dream was always to serve in the British Army for a few years, then start my own business utilising my fashion design skills. It can sound like a crazy mix, but the thrill of pushing myself in the army always appealed to me, so that is what I did! I left the army a short service when Sienna was 9 months, so that I could pursue my dream business. What challenges did you face in your own breastfeeding journey? Sienna struggled to latch initially, but after buzzing the midwives into my room what felt like 100 times to give us different tricks to try, she eventually latched on. After around a week, Sienna became super unsettled, had acid reflux, and cried non stop. She also developed a really thick eczema on her face at 4 weeks - it was a long journey but we eventually had it confirmed that she had a cows milk protein allergy, as well as an intolerance to gluten. The journey towards finding this out meant that I had to take on a 'Total Elimination Diet' - which meant basically surviving on only a few foods at a time to figure out which food was the problem; it was very testing! But we got through it, and now the only things I have to exclude from my diet are gluten and cows milk. Sienna also had a tongue tie revised at 10 weeks, which actually didn't make too much of a difference for us in the end!

Have you ever had any negative public breastfeeding experiences?    Luckily I never have! My first public breastfeeding experience still makes me cringe now though - it was a boiling hot August day, I refused to do the one up one down method because it was so hot, so I had to pull the strap down on my playsuit, and basically had my boob completely out, while I faffed with a muslin over my shoulder that kept slipping off. I was so stressed! Then my boyfriend told me that the man opposite me was covering his face so that he couldn't see! I was mortified. 


You recently travelled to India alone to view your product samples – that must have taken some guts!! Were you nervous about the trip? Travelling to India to visit the factory is something I am so grateful I got to do! I always knew I had to see the factory myself to ensure that it was ethical, as well as sustainable. I was super nervous about going alone, but I found out so many little details while I was there that I wouldn't have found out otherwise, such as; when the fabric is being processed, little bits of fluff come away, and land on the factory floor. But at this factory, they sweep them up, collect them, and use them as mattress stuffing so that it isn't wasted. I loved that! It made it totally worth it. I also made friends with one of the ladies who works there, and she promised to take me out sightseeing next time so I am looking forward to that!

Tell us more about the ethical ethos of your brand? Being an eco-conscious brand is something super important to me, and not always the easiest to do as a small start up! I'm not going to lie, the temptation to use non-organic cotton, and be able to price my products much lower did pop its head up over the last year and a half of planning and production, but its just not in my values, and I couldn't do it. I've done everything I can to make sure my brand is eco-friendy, from using 100% GOTS certified organic cotton, OEKO-TEX dyes, organic labels, plastic-free, compostable packaging, to tree planting to offset my yearly carbon footprint. I also use a manufacturer that puts sustainability before profit, and who use eco-friendly methods of production throughout - from recycling the water used for dying, to crushing and recycling fabric waste during production.  Which product are you most excited about? It has to be my sweatshirts! They really are super cosy and soft, and take the faff out of breastfeeding with winter layers on! It is also one of the first products I designed - I released the prototype at the end of 2018, and then took the feedback I received from customers, and instagrammers such as the amazing Maria (@milkmakingmama), and used it to improve the sweatshirt to make sure its perfect for mamas who want to feel stylish, confident and able to breastfeed with zero-faff!

What are the future goals and aims for the company? I have so many! One of my goals is to move towards being completely sustainable - using biodegradable fabrics, and a zero-waste, carbon neutral manufacturer would be the dream! The ultimate dream would also be to take the stress out of breastfeeding out and about for every mama on the planet...I think us ladies have enough things to worry about post baby - breastfeeding confidently shouldn't be one of them. As you know, this blog is called Alt Mummy. What would be your one ‘alternative’ bit of advice to any new mum? My best bit of alternative advice is to be more like my boyfriend!..Bear with me! Basically, I think as mums we often put ourselves to the bottom of the pile when it comes to needs, and priorities. My boyfriend Rob, really is the most amazing Daddy, and Sienna adores him - however, he does not struggle with this like we do! He always finds a little something in it for him. Whether that's having the football on in the background whilst playing with Sienna (where I would have Paw Patrol!), putting Netflix on his laptop while he puts clean clothes away, or getting in the bath every night with Sienna, because leaning over the bath every night gives him aches, and baths are nice! He always looks at things in a, how can we both win in this situation, way - my new years resolution is to be more 'Rob' (& I think lots of Dads have this attitude!). Let's stop putting ourselves at the bottom of the list of priorities, and work out where we can fit in a little bit of something for us when we are carrying out our everyday mum duties!


You can shop Lianne's gorgeous collection at https://www.siennaapparel.co.uk/ Use code ALTMUMMY at checkout to get free postage!

29 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page