top of page
  • Writer's picturealtmummy

Lisa from Sew Unique talks fabric trends and mum owned businesses

Lisa creates gorgeous nursery bunting, keepsake teddys, dribble bibs and taggy blankets in a lovely array of fabrics.

What encouraged you to start up your own business?

I have been a stay at home mum since having my first 3 years ago. I looked at going back to work part time when he was around 18 months old, but found it really hard to find a job that left me with enough money once I had paid for childcare. When my second son came along I realised that I needed to find an alternative way to earn money which could give me the flexibility to work around my family. I also have a passion for creating and crafting which I have been doing in my own time for quite a few years. I have made things for family and friends and always had such positive feedback that I thought I would give it a go.

What is your favourite part of making your products?

My favourite part is definitely the final stage. Regardless of what you're making, and how many hours have gone into it, this is when you can finally see your finished product come to life and see all the hard work pay off.


What do you look for when searching for fabrics to work with?

A mix of two things is really important. One is making sure that the fabric is of a high standard in terms of quality and suitability for the product. I need to make sure that the fabric will withstand all of the practical realities babies and parents will put them through! The other thing that is important is making sure the colours and patterns on the fabric will be fun and exciting for the babies and parents to enjoy.

As you know, my blog is called Alt Mummy. What is your alternative bit of advice for mums?

Sometimes buying the big brands isn't always the best option. Sometimes the marketing can be misleading and make you feel like the most expensive is the best. As a new mum you are not always sure what to do and you want the best for your kids. When I had my first child I couldn't breastfeed. I was made to feel that breast was best and therefore by giving my child formula I was already not providing the best. This meant that I went out and bought the most expensive and popular brands of formula which after 12 months costs a fortune. When I had my second child (who was also bottle fed) I did a bit more research and realised the cheapest formula was just as good as the most expensive. This gave me peace of mind and saved us a lot of money in the process.


What is your favourite play activity or place to visit with kids when you're not working on your business?

I absolutely love being able to spend quality play time with the kids. Our favourite place to go is the park. We can go anytime of year and there is plenty of space to run around and play football which my 3 year old loves. We also love looking for bugs and other types of wildlife.

What other mum owned businesses do you recommend?

Babybeats is a class for parents and babies to enjoy together. It's a workout for the parent and sensory and massage for the babies. It's a great way for parents and babies to bond and have fun at the same time. It was started by mum of three Rose Gibson in Wakefield and now has multiple classes held nationwide. She is also a very good friend of mine and an inspiration for aspiring mum owned businesses.


What are you looking forward to most about exhibiting at the first Alt Mummy fair?

This will be my first event so I am really excited to display all of my products from my old and new lines (which will be live soon). I am also really excited to interact face-to-face with the customers and see my products go to happy homes.

How do you think baby shopping has changed in recent years?

Like all types of shopping, a lot seems to have moved away from the high street to online. This has its advantages and disadvantages. There is a lot more options on the high street now as there is a lot of choice ranging from budget in the supermarkets to more expensive high street brands. You are able to grab those baby grows you needed or teething granules while on your weekly shop, instead of having to go out of your way. There are also great options online. Platforms like Etsy have made it easy for consumers to find unique items from independent retailers if they are looking to avoid mass-produced products.


What is your favourite nursery trend?

I am a big fan of Scandinavian inspired decor. I think the whites mixed with the natural woods can bring a calming influence to a room. I also think sometime less is more. Less clutter and less furniture can be more fun and room to play.

What trends in patterns have you noticed over recent years?

There are a few pattern trends that I noticed recently. A really popular but simplistic one is geometric designs. These work really well for nursery decor or on clothing. They can be really minimal and are a really easy way to make an outfit or room look trendy/current. Retro patterns have also been really popular. These are great because they can be adapted in many different ways to suit gender or age and are a good way for parents to be reminded of their own childhood while cherishing the new memories with their children.



Use discount code ALTMUM10 for 10% off at https://www.etsy.com/uk/shop/Sewuniqueltd

Or come and see Lisa in person at the Alt Mummy Pop Up Fair upstairs in Little Raine, Market Harborough on the 18th of April.

13 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page