top of page
  • Writer's picturealtmummy

Q&A with Holly from Rockit Kids


Rockit Kids is an online and bricks and mortar kid’s boutique coming to Northampton very soon. What made you want to stick with a traditional shop format as well as online and what do you think are the benefits of shopping in the old fashioned way?

Despite the convenience of online shopping, there’s still no substitute for being able to see the quality of an item before you purchase. In addition, with a lot of brands the sizing can vary, so you can bring your child in and see what fits them best. 


How did studying in Brighton and visiting Sweden influence your aesthetics for the brand?

I like quirky styles and design and I think these two locations do this really well. My ambition for the shop was to create a shop that would fit in either of these locations. I wanted to bring something lovely to Northampton. 

It certainly feels like there’s a gap in the market for good quality, independent children’s boutiques in Northampton. What other shops do you think are doing a brilliant job of reviving the local area?

St Crispin's Retail Village is an absolute gem in the town. Story ladies clothes shop next door to us have proven with their success that there’s a market for independent retailers in the town, providing choices for customers outside of the major high street retailers. 


Tell us more about the brands you’ll be stocking. What do you look for when sourcing suppliers?

We’ll be stocking clothes from Swedish brands Duns and Villervalla, British brands Toby Tiger, Boy & Bird, and Lily & Mortimer. We’ve got an amazing range of hats from Polish brand Bexa. In the store there are lots of additional accessories and gifts, including handmade items from local companies and work from two of my favourite artists (one who is Northampton-based). 

I’ve spent the last few months carefully deciding which brands are right for Rockit and I’m really proud of what we have to offer. All of our clothes and hats are made from certified organic cotton and have been ethically produced. Something which can’t always be guaranteed in the larger retailers. 


What are your three essential products for this autumn season? What colours and styles are most on trend in kid’s fashion?

I think bright colours on kids never go out of fashion! My personal favourite (my daughter’s too) for this autumn is the Bexa Aviator hat which has wearable goggles. 


Your bags were designed with local printmaker Kat Lendacka. Why do you think it’s so important to support local artists and makers? And who is currently on your radar at the moment?

Kat is definitely one to watch! I love her work and have her prints on my walls at home. Giving local artists exposure through the store is so important in bringing their work to new audiences. 


You suffered from gestational diabetes during pregnancy. What advice would you give to other mums suffering from this and what impact did it have on your own pregnancy experience?

My one big piece of advice is don’t blame yourself! I ate a lot of sweet things in the early stages of my pregnancy and in my ignorance thought I’d caused the diabetes. Being honest it was not fun cutting out everything sweet, and even foods that raised my blood sugar, but it was thankfully only temporary. I have so much respect for people who manage this every day of their lives.

What has been your favourite thing about taking the plunge with your ‘pipe dream’?

Definitely being my own boss! The shop has also given me an outlet to be creative, which I’ve loved. Throughout the set up of Rockit I’ve strived to challenge the way things are done, like the printing of bags. I’ve also made the decision not to have printed receipts (who likes those filling up your handbag anyway?!). In this day and age we don’t need a lot of printed materials. I’ve tried to take that into account where possible.

What do you think is the biggest challenge of being a working parent and what would be your golden rule for managing the two?

In my previous jobs I’ve always felt a lot of guilt about being at work and relying on my mum for a lot of childcare. I think most parents feel guilt about one thing or another and I think it’s important not to beat yourself up. With the set up of Rockit being so intensive over the past months I’ve tried to involve my children where possible and they’ve been advising me on what stock to buy, and have helped loads with the design of the store. 

As you know, this blog is called Alt Mummy. What would be your one ‘alternative’ bit of advice to any new mum?

Brace yourself for ‘poomageddon’. It comes for the best of us. And usually in the most inconvenient place possible (in my case the Herbert art gallery in Coventry).


Holly opens the doors of Rockit Kids for the first time this Saturday! Be sure to pop along. The shop will be open every Tuesday-Saturday, 9:30am-5pm. Follow them on Instagram @rockit_kids or Facebook on Rockit Boutique. Alternatively visit the website at www.rockitkids.co.uk.

51 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page